Kursial Bridge or Guillemard Bridge was in the 1920s across the Kelantan river and was once strategically destroyed by the British Armed Forces.
This rustic but magnificent bridge was officially opened by HRH sultan Ismail Ibni Almarhum Sultan Muhammad IV in 1925. It began its construction works for in 1920, completed in July 1924 and was named after the British Governor and High Commissioner for the Straits Settlement at that time, Sir Laurence Guillemard.
In December 1941, in order to prevent the advancement of the Japanese army, this bridge, which then supported both trains as well as road vehicles, was deliberately destroyed by the British Armed Forces, who later retreated south to Kuala Krai. But the ruined bridge was later reconstructed, and opened again for traffic on September 7, 1948.
The Guillemard Bridge was put to full use, not just by the train, but surprisingly for other vehicles and pedestrians as well. Today, this railway bridge is used only for trains, and makes up part of the 'jungle railway' line that runs from Tumpat in the north, to Gemas in the south (in Negeri Sembilan).
Getting There :
From Kota Bharu centre, take bus number 19 or 27, which will take you to Wakaf Baharu, one of two train stations that serve Kota Bharu.